April 13, 2020 to February 1, 2022

It has been a long, long time since I gave a progress report on my writing. Like a lot of writers in the Covid Era, I have experienced a massive amount of writer’s block over the past few years. I’m told it has something to do with Maslow’s Heirarchy of Needs, and that seems like it makes the most sense to me.

The good news is that the Muse had returned.

Before I continue, I should mention that I did publish a book on March 12, 2020, literally the day before the US went into lockdown as then-President Trump declared Covid-19 a National Emergency. I remember this day well, because March 13, 2020 was also the day I graduated from.college with a Bachelor in Communications …and almost no one cared!

In any case, the book was Gray Barker’s Book of Monsters Volume 1. Gray Barker is better known as a UFO investigator and hoaxer, but he also wrote a lot about monsters! Obviously, some of these were alleged extraterrestrials, but he also wrote about lake monsters, Bigfoot and other cryptids (undiscovered animals).

Volume 1 implies a forthcoming Volume 2, and that is something I’ve been working on. This Volume covers Barker’s writings up to 1956 when he wrote the foundational work on the Men in Black, They Knew Too Much About Flying Saucers. The next Volume will cover the rest of his writings. The book is also enthusiastically illustrated by yours truly.

Given the bad timing of the publication, I’m considering a relaunch when Volume 2 is closer to completion.

I am re-evaluating the the promised reboot of the Impworld/Otherworld Saga. It seemed like agood idea at the time, but I think I need to do a bit more market research before I commit to it. I may settle for an unabridged version of Luckbane and Soulbright. We’ll see.

Deus Portas is developing very naturally. I’m still developing game modules and plotting out the possibilities for tie-in book. I do know that I want them to be Choose-Your-Own-Path type books to keep with the spirit of the game.

Until we reach The Last Door,
Tony Breeden


Leave a comment